Snail Mail

I don’t know about you, but I love sending and receiving post. I wanted to share some ideas that I had for the decorating envelopes of mail I sent to my pen friends. (I have blurred out their surnames and addresses for privacy)

img_4770

For this letter, I used my black Stabilo Point 88 fineliner to sketch the outlines of buttons. I then used Derwent watercolour pencils to shade and a wet paintbrush to fill in areas and create shadows. I also brushed the wet paintbrush on the tip of the pencil and flicked it across the envelope to create a splatter effect.

img_4768

img_4772

For this letter, I used a black Uniball Eye pen to draw the outlines of cacti along the edge of the envelope. Ensure you use a pen that won’t run when it gets wet. Again, I used watercolour pencils to shade the cacti shapes and used a wet paintbrush to blend the colours. Make sure you don’t put too much water on the paper though, as you don’t want wavy paper.

img_4773

I hope you enjoyed this post! Do you have any pen friends?

Lottie x

You can follow me on Instagram @mercercreative or Pinterest @mercer_creative

10 thoughts on “Snail Mail

  1. agirlbakesinnewyork says:

    Very nice and creative! Where do you find your penpals? I have been thinking of getting into the snail mail thing but don’t know how to find pen friends. Do you meet people to pen pal with through your blog as well? Thanks!

    Diorella

    • Mercer Creative says:

      Thank you! I actually found my pen friends through a volunteering thing I did over the summer and we said we’d stay in touch. I know there are websites where you can get a penpal but it would be really nice to meet someone through blogging! 🙂

Leave a Reply

