Cactus Embroidery & Quilting Sample

Hello everyone! As you read this I will hopefully be having a whale of a time in Wales on a school biology trip.

I’ve been enjoying the Great British Sewing Bee recently which has made me want to do some more sewing, so I thought I’d do a quick post on a couple of samples that I have made.

The first is a simple cactus embroidery on a white cotton fabric, which I purchased from Fabric Land. I gained inspiration for this design from Pinterest and it uses a combination of straight stitch and french knots. I also created cactus flowers by embellishing with small pearlescent seed beads.

IMG_4432.jpg

IMG_4439.jpg

IMG_4435.jpg

IMG_4388.jpg

IMG_4393.jpg

IMG_4443.jpg

Another sample that I produced was this quilt sample, which used some of the scraps from my GCSE textiles project, as well as some of the beautiful fabrics that I bought in Portugal. It isn’t the neatest, but it was my first time using wadding so it came out better than expected. I also really like the combination of the blue and yellow fabrics.

IMG_4453.jpg

IMG_4451.jpg

IMG_4447.jpg

Have you been sewing anything nice recently?

If you haven’t already, I’d love it if you could complete my survey about the kind of posts you would like to see on my blog! If you’d like to, you can also follow me on Instagram @mercercreative or Pinterest @mercer_creative

Lottie x

 

 

10 thoughts on “Cactus Embroidery & Quilting Sample

  1. Allison says:

    Ooh, pretty! Your cactus embroidery is so neatly and beautifully done! I also like the fabric you chose for your quilt square.
    Nope, I haven’t done much sewing recently. :/ Actually I guess I sewed a dress for the doll I made, but it wasn’t very beauteous. XD

  2. OsagePrairie says:

    Love the cctus embroider. Love the addition of pearls. I am working on twin size quilts I designed for my 2 grandaughters. It was my first quilting project which was probably too much but it’s been fun. Hope to share pictures soon on the Osageprairie. Thanks for sharing your work!

Leave a Reply

