Cell Cake

Hello again! All my exams are now over and I am returning to the blogosphere! As a celebration for it being nearly the end of the school year, and as one of my biology teachers is leaving, I decided to make a cell cake to share with my class.

I made a basic Victoria sponge cake using Mary Berry’s amazing recipe and filled it with a layer of jam. I iced the cake using fondant, and mixed the different colours using Dr. Oetker coloured ready-to-roll icing.

I used white fondant to cover the whole cake, rolling it out, then carefully draping on top using a rolling pin and gently stretching the icing around the cake to remove any folds. I created the cell membrane using a strip of blue icing, which I cut out using a pizza cutter and clean ruler. It is important to use a little water to help the strip to adhere to the edge of the cake so that it does not come apart.

I created the cell’s organelles (the mitochondria, rough endoplasmic reticulum, smooth endoplasmic reticulum, golgi apparatus and nucleus) using different colours of fondant. When making the SER and RER, I found that it helped to cut a strip of fondant, then cover with clingfilm and chill in the fridge; this made it more workable and ensured that the delicate parts held their shape better.

Now onto the photos!

IMG_3895.jpg

Covering the cake with white fondant

IMG_4404.jpg

IMG_4400.jpg

IMG_4409.jpg

Close up of the rough endoplasmic reticulum, with the small blue balls representing the ribosomes.

IMG_4410.jpg

Smooth endoplasmic reticulum

Hope you enjoyed this post and that it helps anyone who has to make a cell cake as a science project!

If you haven’t already, I’d love it if you could complete my survey about the kind of posts you would like to see on my blog! If you’d like to, you can also follow me on Instagram @mercercreative

Lottie x

 

16 thoughts on “Cell Cake

  1. Ed says:

    You never cease to amaze me with your baking, It’s absolutely beautiful!
    Thank you for leaving some for me ☺️

  2. Allison says:

    Ooh, this is really neat! It’s funny because I am (or was) learning about those same things in my Science! 😀 So those organelles sound quite familiar. XD

  3. Susan says:

    Wow. You are truly an outstandingly talented young girl. Where abouts did you purchase your white fondant may I ask? I find the taste can be very varied. My son also studies biology and was very impressed with your cake!

Leave a Reply

