Malteser Surprise Cupcakes

Hello everyone! It was my friend’s 17th birthday today, so I made some cakes to take into school for her. I actually bothered to take a few photos as I went along this time, to give you more of a step by step guide.

I used my favourite cupcake recipe (from an ancient/ partially destroyed kids cookery book):

125g caster sugar

125g softened butter

2 eggs

125g self-raising flour

2 tbsp milk

1/2 tsp vanilla extract

To make chocolate cupcakes, I substituted a little flour for cocoa powder. For the malteser ‘surprise’, I placed one whole malteser into the centre of each cupcake and covered them over with a bit more cake mixture.

IMG_5605.jpg

IMG_5607.jpg

Straight out of the oven! You can see the maltesers near the top on some of them.

For the icing, I first made a basic buttercream. I then poured a large bag of maltesers into a ziplock bag and crushed them with a rolling pin. After folding the malteser pieces into the buttercream, I used a hand whisk on high speed to make it more light and fluffy. I roughly piped the same amount of buttercream onto each cupcake, then used an offset spatula to smooth it out.

IMG_5612.jpg

I took these pictures first thing this morning, so I had already put the cupcakes in my handy container to take to school.

IMG_5610.jpg

IMG_5611.jpg

I hope you like this post! What kind of things have you been up to recently? I really enjoy reading all your comments.

If you haven’t already, I’d love it if you could complete my survey about the kind of posts you would like to see on my blog! If you’d like to, you can also follow me on Instagram @mercercreative

Lottie x

 

17 thoughts on “Malteser Surprise Cupcakes

  1. Allison says:

    Mmmmm, my mouth is watering! Lately I’ve been polymer clay-ing, blogging, and reading. 😀 Right now I’m reading on The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey. Long title, I know. XD The Mysterious Benedict series is really good so far! Have you ever read it?

Leave a Reply

