Christmas Sugar Cookies

I have finally finished making these lovely Christmas sugar cookies! They taste and look great! I decided to use the same recipe as I used for my halloween cookies (check out the link if you haven’t already seen it!) which was created by Martha Stewart.

IMG_3864.JPG

My mum bought me some gorgeous copper cookie cutters from Sainsbury’s. They are shaped like a reindeer and an angel.

I started off putting the cookies in a baking tray, but decided they might stick, so in the end I placed them on a sheet of baking parchment. I baked them for about 16 mins at 160°c. The mixture allowed me to make 8 snowflakes, 8 reindeer and 4 angels.

For the icing, I used Tate & Lyle royal icing sugar and mixed it with water until it reached the desired consistency. For the angels and the snowflakes, I created line consistency and flood consistency white icing, but for the reindeer I attempted SweetAmbs’ method of creating an ‘in-between’ consistency. I found that getting the right consistency was the most challenging thing about making the cookies. I used a tip 2 on the piping bag for the majority of the decorating process, but for the reindeer nose I used a tip 4.

The icing on the reindeer is chocolate royal icing. To make it, I added some cocoa powder mixed with water to the royal icing. For the red nose, I added some gel food colouring to achieve a vibrant colour.

Here are some pictures of the finished sugar cookies!

IMG_3920.JPG

IMG_3943

IMG_3911.JPG

IMG_3934.JPG

IMG_3905.JPG

IMG_3916

Have you ever tried making sugar cookies?

Hope you enjoyed this post! Happy Christmas!

28 thoughts on “Christmas Sugar Cookies

  1. Catherine says:

    Oh wow! The piping on those snowflake cookies is incredible, I am very impressed. I tried making sugar cookies a few weeks ago, they taste delicious don’t they? Although I’m sure mine weren’t half as yummy as yours!

  2. magnetically aesthetic says:

    Hi there, I wanted to stop by and thank you so much for checking out my blog 🙂 I wanted to return the favor and check out your blog as well. Your Christmas sugar cookies are adorable, and ridiculously detailed (the snowflake designs???! crazy good haha) and I look forward to seeing what else you post in the future!

    Sincerely,
    Belinda
    magneticallyaesthetic.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

