Stamped Clay Charms

These stamped clay charms make a really cute gift for your friends – especially as they are perfect for attaching to pencil case zips and school bags! You could also try making them into a necklace or charm bracelet.

I decided to use pastel colours for this DIY because I thought they would go with the antique theme. To make the charms, I rolled a small ball of polymer clay (Fimo type stuff) and flattened it with my finger. Then I used a small rubber stamp to stamp on each one. I used a variety of different stamps such as butterflies, hearts, rabbits, dragonflies and daisies. I also made a small hole in the top of each charm using a BBQ skewer and placed them in the oven on a baking tray, baking according to the instructions.

Make sure you don’t leave the charms in the oven for too long and do open your windows as they can release some nasty fumes!

After baking, I left them for a while to cool. To achieve the antiqued look, I used some acrylic paint in a yellow ochre colour to paint on top of the charm. Then I rubbed away at the paint using some kitchen roll so that the only paint remaining was in the ridges left from the stamp. Once the paint had dried, I used a clear varnish/ glaze to create the shine on the surface of the charms. However, if you like, you can leave them as they are. Finally, I placed a split ring through the hole that I made in the top of the charm.

IMG_3857.JPG

I particularly like the rabbit and the butterfly charms as the blue colour worked really well against the antique finish. I also think that the stamps are really cute!

IMG_3854.JPG

IMG_3859.JPG

IMG_3860.JPG

Hope you liked this DIY! Would love to hear from you in the comments – have you ever tried making anything with polymer clay? x

By the way, I have created a survey and I would really appreciate it if you took the time to fill it in!

17 thoughts on “Stamped Clay Charms

  1. Allison says:

    It’s a great idea to use stamps with polymer clay! I think my favorite charms are either the butterfly or the flower. Yes, I do use polymer clay, actually pretty often. I like making miniature animals with it. (Like the ones on some of the posts on my blog.) I occasionally make some jewelry, also. Speaking of stamping clay, I think you can also roll something textured, like lace, along with a flat piece of clay through a pasta machine to make the clay textured. I’m excited to see more creative posts from you!

  2. Barbara says:

    Nice. I have never worked with this clay, but I will be looking into it. I’m kinda new to making jewelry, mostly stringing beads.

  3. Catherine says:

    I love these, they are so cute. I never would have thought of using polymer clay, but after seeing how beautifully yours turned out, I am definitely going to be making some of these for my daughters this Christmas! Any tips on how not to mess up? (I’m not quite as expert as you)

  4. Eleanor says:

    My goodness! What a brilliant idea! I truly can’t wait to suprise the children with some of these… And maybe even the husband! Such an original and beautiful idea. I have to agree with Catherine in that I naturally avoid polymer clay, however it is always good to try something new, and theres a first time for everything! Any tips before I set to work? And thanks again for being such an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

