Child’s Summer Dress

This is a throw back to the girl’s summer dress that I recently finished, based on the theme ‘All things bright and beautiful’. It is an A-line dress, fully lined, with an embellished collar and scalloped edge.
The dress also features decorative flower motifs, which are appliquéd onto the garment using free machining.

I used a commercial pattern to make the dress, but I drafted the collar and the scalloped hem. The hem was inspired by flower petals, which I think really reflects the theme of ‘All things bright and beautiful’.

To ensure a perfect fit on my model, I first produced a dipryl mock up so that I was able to take it in at the waist and make sure that the scalloped edge would meet up properly. This also helped in drafting the pattern for the collar.

I purchased the yellow and polka dot fabrics from John Lewis, and the white lining fabric from fabric land.

IMG_7358

The dress has a Peter Pan style collar, which is highly embellished with various beads and sequins, following the yellow colour scheme. I have tried to achieve a gradient across the collar, with most of the embellishment concentrated at the centre of the dress and the rest of the beads dotted around the collar.

IMG_7360

The design features three beautiful appliqué flowers that I have free machined onto the dress. The use of scraps of yellow and blue patterned fabric has created a fun and childish feel to the garment. I have also sewn on a few pearly seed beads to the centre of each flower.

IMG_7295

This is an image of the finished garment. I really like how it turned out because the overall look is pretty neat and it reflects the summer theme well.

14 thoughts on “Child’s Summer Dress

Leave a Reply

